“In our age there is no such thing as ‘keeping out of politics’. All issues are political issues, and politics itself is a mass of lies, evasions, folly, hatred, schizophrenia.” -George Orwell.

 “You’re probably voting Republican.”

    “Why do you think that?”

    “Because you’re a Christian.”

     This is a conversation I have with my parents every time an election rolls around. While they believe in God, they haven’t jumped onto the Christianity train like I have.  I should probably mention that I voted for Obama in the last election. I should also mention that I am that rare breed of Christian who is a registered Democrat.

     Normally, I abhor the mention of politics and when people try to engage me in any kind of political discussion I’ll either a) leave the room or b) say, “Let’s agree to disagree.” Why am I choosing to write about politics now, you ask? To be honest my reasons are not entirely clear to me. I guess part of it lies in the fact that I am becoming more and more grieved for the fact that Christianity has become exclusivelyRepublican. There are already so many divisions in the church that it saddens me to think that we’re ready to add one more.

    There are conservative Christians, liberal Christians, fundamentalist Christians, evangelical Christians, Methodists, Calvanists, Lutherans, Seventh Day Adventists, and a heap of others that I’ve forgotten to mention all lumped into the category of Christian. When the church, a body of believers, was designed, I doubt that demoninations was what God had in mind. We argue with each other over predestination, the rapture, how to dress, whether or not to have tattoos, literal and figurative scripture analysis, music choice, make-up, courting vs. dating, and so much more. What frustrates me the most is that over the last couple of years, Christians (myself included) have made the concious choice to add one more division into the ever-growing list: politics.

    Let me clarify that I am not putting myself on a pedestal. I’m guilty of judging Republicans for what they believe. What I’m trying to say is that we need to stop being so quick to divide ourselves over such small, insignificant issues. Instead of visiting that website that will give you 100 reasons why Democrats/Republicans are ruining the moral fabric of society, instead of decrying the injustice of the last election, instead of claiming that President Obama is the Muslim anti-Christ set to destroy America, why don’t you come down off your soap box, take the plank out of your eye, and do something. I don’t mean starting a protest or leading a boycott. I mean buying a homeless person lunch, taking that $50 you spend on manicures and donating it to a charity, or mowing your neighbors lawn because he’s an old man who has trouble pushing the mower in the heat.

  How often do you see the most Christian of politicians serving something other than government?

