Scene I

 The entrance to the parking garage at my building. Having just returned from running an errand for my boss, I pull up to the gate and swipe my car. The gate doesn’t open. I swipe again. Same result. I push the intercom button for help.

Me: Hello?

Intercom:…

Me: Hello?

Intercom:…

Me: Is someone there? The gate won’t open.

Intercom:…

Me: Is the gate not working today? Is there something wrong with my card? It worked this morning.

Intercom:…

Me: Hello?

Intercom:…

Me: Could you open the gate for me?

Intercom: (gruff male voice) Pull a visitor’s pass!

Me: (meekly) Ok thank you.

Scene II

The lobby of the building. I walk to the security desk to check on the status of my card.

Me: Is there something wrong with the gate? It wouldn’t open.

Security Guard: Did you get stuck too?

Me: What?

Security Guard: Some guy was stuck just now and he kept ringing the buzzer for me to open the gate. He just kept ringing and ringing. I wasn’t here so I couldn’t hear him at first, but he kept calling and calling. He was really impatient.

Me:…

Security Guard: You said your card wasn’t working.

Me: No. It’s fine. Thank you.

Curtain

