I realized the other day that I’m extremely prejudice.

    Towards racists.

    Let that marinate in your head for little bit.

    I am prejudice towards racists.

    Here’s what happened:

   I was driving into work, minding my own business, when a car cut in front of me. You all know that only tailgating drives me bonkers, so at first I didn’t think much about this guy’s abominable driving practices. That was until I saw the sticker he had plastered on his back windshield.

    Do you see the sticker? Here’s a closer look.

   

    Yeah, that’s a confederate flag.

   On a station wagon.

   Now, I live in Florida, where racism is called “southern pride” so I’ve gotten used to seeing confederate flags plastered on everything from belt buckles to coffee mugs. I’ve even seen confederate pajama pants because even your subconscious should know you’re a racist. My only problem with this sticker is that it’s on a freakn’ station wagon. In my neck of the swamp, confederate flags go on pick-up trucks that are half the size of Mobile, Alabama. And none of this Chevy pick-up truck crap; you better be driving a Ford.

   This is how I know I’m prejudice towards racists.

    I have specific criterion for how a racist should look.

    I seem to think that bigotry is exclusively white.

    This is not the case at all, as there are Asians who hate African-Americans and Indians who hate Caucasians and African-Americans who hate Latinos. And people from the Middle East are being trashed by everyone these days.

   I guess none of us are immune to prejudice. Perhaps it comes with the territory of humanity. I don’t know why, but we seem to have a penchant for division and us vs. them mentalities.

    There are liberals and conservatives.

    There are heterosexuals and homosexuals.

    There are Christians and Atheists.

    There are conspiracy theorists and patriots.

    For once I would like to see a little unity in the world. We all get so wrapped up in trying to “fit in” and find our “niche” that sometimes we don’t realize who we’re alienating in the process.  Even though I’m preaching at you right now, I don’t absolve myself of guilt. I judged that guy just because he had a confederate flag on his car. Maybe a friend stuck it on his car for a joke. Maybe it was on the car when he bought it and he hasn’t been able to get it off. Who says it was even his car?

   I guess what I’m trying to say is that I need to take the plank out my own eye and start practicing what I preach.

   I need to stop perpetuating the problem with my self-righteous attitude.

   I need to fix myself before I start trying to change the world.

    Did I really use a cliche like “change the world?”

    And there’s the self-righteousness again.

    Lord, help me.

