Tags

, , , , , ,

    One of my Dad’s friends (who knew the man had friends?) bought him an iPod shuffle.

   At first he thought it was a jump drive because the thing is honestly the size of a paper clip. It wasn’t until I showed him the play button that he realized what it was.

    “They make iPods this small?”

    “Yes.”

    “What do I do with it?”

    “You put music on it. This one is 2 gigs so you can probably hold about 400 songs on here.”

    “Hmm, I don’t have time to put 400 songs on this thing.”

    “Do you want me to set it up for you?”

    “Sure. Do what you want.”

   I had nothing better to do was being a good child so I took his iPod, registered it, and started finding music from my library that he would like. Not to toot my own horn, but I have pretty eclectic music tastes. In addition to loving Ingrid Michaelson, The Script, and  Tay-tay Swift (Tay-tay!), I also love Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Whitney Housten, Bob Marley, Percy Sledge, Aretha Franklin, Earth, Wind, and Fire,  Marvin Gaye (only Communists hate Marvin Gaye), and Nat King Cole.  I have a fair amount of music by all these artists in my itunes library so by the time I was done, He-Man had about 50 songs on his iPod. For some good measure I threw The Beach Boys on there too.

   “Dad, I’m done with your iPod. Is there any song on here that you don’t want?”

   “There’s no Teddy Pendergrass! Why didn’t you put any Teddy Pendergrass on there!”

   “I don’t own any music by Teddy Pendergrass.”

   “What?! C’mon Gyasi. If there’s no Teddy Pendergrass I don’t think I want this thing.”

    “Dad, I can buy some music from the itunes store.”

   “Oh ok, do that then.”

    “Didn’t realize you liked Teddy Pendergrass that much.”

    He-Man likes Teddy Pendergrass THAT much.

   Forty-five minutes later I was still downloading music from T-Pain (which is what I’m calling Pendergrass now) and hearing this the entire time:

   “Oh! I want that song! Not that one. THAT one. Gyasi, did you download that one yet? Well, I want that one and that one. Get that one when you’re done getting that one and make sure I have that one too. Don’t forget to get that one and that one’s a classic, but I don’t really like it as much as that one. Actually, get that one too just in case.”

   When I was finally done downloading T-Pain into my itunes library, I showed He-Man how to use his iPod. He was thoroughly pleased with it, but had trouble understanding one simple concept.

    “THE SOUND ON THIS IS REALLY GOOD.”

    “Dad, take your head phones off when you talk to me.”

     “WHAT?”

    “Never mind.”

   “DID YOU PUT THE BEACH BOYS ON THIS? I DON’T REALLY LIKE THE BEACH BOYS THAT MUCH. HOW DO YOU TAKE THEM OFF?”

   At this point I put on my noise reducing headphones and we had a shouting match for the rest of the evening.

    Chi-chi wasn’t pleased.

