When Bella pulled on the leash so hard that you fell spread eagle in a parking lot at 8am?

Why yes I do!

Let me tell you the story.

This morning I had a 7am appointment to go get an estimate on my car. I hit a bad stretch of road on 95 and broke the protective sheild underneath. Right now it’s tied up to keep it from dragging on the ground (kudos He-Man and Uncle Nigel), but it needs to be fixed. I live on a dirt road and I can’t have horse fakaka, rocks, and mud fenagling their way into Sid the Hybrid.

That simply won’t do.

I didn’t know how long it would take to get the estimate so I took Bella out before I left just in case I didn’t have time to come back and let her out before work. She did her business and everything was cool. She was well behaved and didn’t run into oncoming traffic like she’s normally wont to do. It was a good morning.

The morning got even better when the estimate came out to only $186 for repairs. I was expecting much more and I love it when I get to save money that I didn’t have in the first place. Score one for me! It only took the guy about 20 minutes to assess the damage and get the paperwork I needed so I was back at the apartment by 7:30. Now I had time for breakfast! Score 2 for me!

In order to get to work on time from Julie’s apartment, I have to leave by 8:10. This means that Bella goes out at 8:00. At 8:01, she was hooked to her leash and we were heading outside. Normally, Bella is downright giddy about going outside, but this morning she was surprisingly chill. I thought that maybe she was tired. Afterall, we woke up at 5:45 so that I could get out the door by 6:30 for my appointment.

I now know that Bella is never tired.

She’s merely waiting.

Bella did her business again when we got outside and (I will never get used to this) I bent down to pick it up. Bella had already started walking back to the apartment when she reached the end of the leash. AND PULLED.

You have to realize that it was 8:00 in the morning and I was ready to go to work. Therefore, I was wearing a nice shirt, khaki dress pants, and heels. A plague upon the man who invented heels.

Because Bella pulled the leash with the force of a small Clydesdale and I was already off balance because I was leaning forward and wearing heels in the grass I went skidding cross the parking lot face first. Thankfully I avoided her mess, but my dress pants did not avoid the pavement. I had a skid mark all along the front of my pants. One shoe was behind me, but the other was still on my foot. I don’t know why, but for some reason that comforted me as I was lying on the ground.

The comfort was immediately shot down when Bella thought that it was playtime, jumped into my lap, and started licking off my make-up.

I have to believe that this incident was pay back for the fiber bread fiasco.

