The other day I realized that I’m extremely insensitive.

And cruel.

And pernicious.

Some of you might say, “Gyasi, have you ever spent any time with yourself ever?” to which I would answer, “Yes, but I thought I was just being sarcastic.” It wasn’t until my sister texted me a few days ago that I realized I’m extremely insensitive. My friends have told me in the past that I suck at encouragement (my advice to many of their major life issues has been “Sweetheart, suck it up.”), but I thought I at least had an ounce of sensitivity.

Alas, I do not.

The other day I was at the gym when I got a text from my sister. She told me that she was outside people watching and all she could do was think of mean things to say about other people’s wardrobe, hair, expression, etc. Then she texted, “I just realized that I’m really judgmental.”

My reply to this was, “You JUST realized that about yourself?”

But I didn’t stop there. I continued with, “Kira, that’s like cheese JUST realizing that it’s a dairy product.”

And then, “That’s like me coming to you and saying, ‘Kira, I just realized that I’m extremely pale faced for a black person.'”

Needless to say, she did not respond to my “harmless” jibes.

Insensitivity.

