Tags

Those of you who know me know that I do not enjoy feelings.

Well, I’m quite fond of anger and rage, but beyond that I don’t do feelings.

My cousin, Rachel, yelled at me during Fireproof because I started to laugh. During Titantic I wondered, ‘Why can’t they take turns on the board?’ My friend, Tawakalitu, from high school once asked, “Why are all of your short stories so depressing? Why can’t you be happy? You should write about a unicorn and a rainbow. But don’t kill them. That would be depressing.” Another friend (who shall remain nameless) once said, in all seriousness, “You know, sometimes I honestly wonder if you have a soul.”

Three years later, I’m here to report that I do have a soul.

And I am apparently capable of feelings other than ire and indifference.

Every couple of weeks I go through the NY Times book review to find something good to read. My co-workers and friends are pretty good with recommendations, but sometimes I like to find good reading material for myself. While perusing the Times I stumbled across a review on a biography on Charles and Emma Darwin. Did you know that Emma Darwin, Charles’ wife, was a devout Christian? I didn’t. That fact in conjunction with the well written review prompted me to buy the book for my Nook. (Oh how I love my Nook)

Some of you are probably wondering how on God’s green earth a marriage between a Christian and the father of evolution worked. I’m here to tell you that it worked in such a way that it will break your heart. Or, if you’re heartless like me, you will grow a heart while reading this book and then have it break. I cried while I was reading this book. And because I was reading it on my Nook I had to be careful that I didn’t electrocute myself.

Don’t ask me what it was about their love story that made me go, “Oh, hello feelings. I’ve been wondering when you’d show up.” Perhaps it was Charles’ letters to his wife on his religious doubts. Perhaps it was her constant support of him when he was writing On the Origin of the Species. For all I know it could have been the fact that they were married for 43 years while most people can barely stay married for 43 minutes these days. There are very few people who mean their marriage vows when they say them and I find that to be a greatest tragedy of the modern age.

Oh wow more feelings.

If any of you are the least bit interested in reading something that doesn’t have a sparkly creature from the undead as one of its main characters, I highly suggest you read this book. It’s called Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith and it’s written by Deborah Heiligman.

* I do realize how thoroughly pretencious I sound telling you that I read the NY Times book review and all, but I’ve made peace with my pretentions and you should too.
