Tags

Survivor (Destiny's Child song)

Image via Wikipedia

The other day I had a revelation.

And it was not about how much wood a woodchuck could chuck.

I was sitting at work, sorting through emails when the song “Say My Name” by Destiny’s Child popped into my head. Considering the song “Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)” by Joan Jett had been playing on an infuriating loop in my head for four days I was grateful for a reprieve. I was humming the chorus to myself when I had my brilliant revelation. I finally realized why Beyonce or Kelly or whoever the heck was singing at that point, wanted her significant other to say her name.

You may wonder why/how it’s taken me ten years to have this relevation, but I was 12 when the song came out and didn’t give a hoot about the lyrics. All I knew was that there had been a Spice Girls sized void in my life and Destiny’s Child seemed up to filling that void.

Lyrical quality wasn’t on my checklist.

I wanted glitter and girl power.

And boy did they supply.

Looking back on it now, I want to sucker punch my 12-year-old self in the jugular.

Don’t ask me why it was a such an “AH HA!” moment when I repeated the words back to myself and realized that Beyonce wants her boyfriend to “say her name” so that why she’ll know whether or not he’s with another girl. “If no one is around you say, ‘baby, I love you’ if you ain’t runnin’ game” should have been an obvious tip off, but I’m quite slow on the uptake. To make the moment even better, the song has been stuck in my head ever since I had this “revelation.”

When it’s quiet all I hear is “Say my name, say my name/ when no one is around you/ say “baby, I love you” if you ain’t running game/ say my name, say my name/ you actin’ kinda shady/ ain’t callin’ me baby/ better say my name.”

 

