So I’ve got this friend called Jon Barahona.

He plays piano like a Rachmaninoff.

For those of you who aren’t nerds, Sergei Rachmaninoff was a Russian composer who is also considered one of the finest pianist of his day. The only reason I know about Rachmaninoff is because I read his name in a book once and thought it sounded cool. Since that day I’ve tried to insert his name into every conversation I’ve ever had.

For example:

Friend: Can you believe people once owned pet rocks?

Me: Rachmaninoff never owned a pet rock.

Friend: I have no idea what that means.

Anyway, my friend, Jon Barahona is part of the Sounds of Civic contest and he needs votes. He’s been doing well so far, but every little bit helps which is why I decided to blog for him. It’s the least I can do considering he is the Latino Rachmaninoff. Not to mention the fact that he’s incredibly cool, down to earth, and funny.

You can vote for him here and if you do, I will write a blog on any subject of your choosing. Or, if you find my blog premises contrived and hard to believe, I will burn you a mix cd. Or cook for you. Or go hunting with you. Really, I will do just about anything short of having tea with a peacock. I really hate peacocks.

Voting ends on July 17th so please, please, please vote for him!

