(Yes, I changed the site theme. I thought this one was easier to navigate.)

Some people have no shame.

This is a fact of life.

On Thursday, when I was getting gas, I decided to use cash instead of my debit card because honestly,  I really only have dust and dreams deferred in my checking account at the moment. Mama needs to get paid. I walked into the store and in about 2.5 seconds had a rather tall fellow at my heels. I was first in line so I handed the attendant my cash, told him the pump number, and took my receipt. My receipt had barely made it into my wallet when the tall fellow said, “Uh yeah , lemme get some Magnums extra large.”

The attendant and I both gave him a look that said, “You nasty little-”

It took everything I had in me not to say, “This is going on my blog asap.”

He couldn’t wait the ten seconds it would have taken me to leave the store and go pump my gas before he asked for condoms? Why not wander up and down the aisles for a minute, wait until the only other person in the store leaves before announcing the you’re going to get your groove on? He could have gotten some Gatorade and twizzlers while he was at it so it was less obvious what he was going to do.

What makes it worse is that this isn’t the first time something like this has happened to me.

In highschool, when I worked at Target, I ended up working on New Year’s Eve because Mama needed to get paid even then. The store was practically deserted so I was the only one on register. I was at the point of total annihilating boredom when a woman walked up to the register with a basket. She dumped the thing on the counter and then occupied herself with a magazine.

What was she buying?

Lingerie, condoms, and lube.

I stared her down until she threw the magazine in there too.

Maybe it’s because I’m a big ol’ prude, but when you need to buy stuff like that, I feel as though you should camouflage it with groceries or school supplies.

If I had some handy, I would have pelted them both with raw bacon.

And also pamphlets on abstinence.

