Tags

Remember how in an earlier post I said, “jet lag my foot”?

Well, jet lag took that foot and put it in my mouth.

In Kenya, I slept a total of 3-4 hours every night.

My body was not a happy camper.

What’s strange about the jet lag was the fact that it didn’t hit until my second day in Kenya. The first night I slept as though God had ordained it. Perhaps he did because cranky Gyasi has the disposition of a wet rag. Maybe God really didn’t want my group to have to deal with dishtowel Gyasi while they were trying to enjoy their first day in Kenya, so he blessed me with sleep.

This is the train of thought I’m going to ride for now.

My second night in Kenya, I laid me down to sleep and didn’t. It took forever and a day for me to fall asleep and when I did, I didn’t stay asleep for very long. When I woke up in the middle of the night it was really dark and I had no idea what time it was. I couldn’t get out of bed because I was scared of Ratamir Putin, King of the Ceiling Rats and the mosquitoes of epic proportions that can kill you with one suck. So I laid in bed and listened to the sound of silence.

Not the song.

That was until I heard, “Hahaha! Oh thank you!” come from the other side of the room.

Which was answered by a loud snore coming from the opposite end of the room.

It still marvels me that the three most active sleepers in the entire world roomed together in Kenya.

Meredith talks in her sleep.

I walk in my sleep (when not suffering from jet lag).

Tesia snores like a hurricane.

So while I was laying awake in bed, I was extremely entertained.

