This semester I’m taking a class called “Neo-Slave Narratives.”

As you can probably gather, we’re reading several slave narratives.

We finished Frederick Douglass’ biography and so we’ve moved onto Harriet Jacobs’ “Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl.” If you aren’t as pretentious as me, I highly suggested you procure a copy and read it at your leisure. However, you should not do this if you’re of the brown persuasion and likely to be around white people in the near future. For some strange reason, I become extremely spiteful against white people after I read slave narratives. Actually, now that I think about it, even the white people in my class started hating white people while we were reading the books.

Oh well.

I bring this up, because yesterday, while we were discussing symbolism and rhetorical strategy my teacher exclaimed, “You’ve got a black man working on a slave ship! You can’t get anymore freakin’ ironic!”

All I could think was, ‘You totally just made the blog.’

Although I probably should have been coming up with ways to pay white people back for slavery.

I’m going to start reading Pride and Prejudice before I start yelling “WHITE DEVIL!” at random strangers.

