Tags

, , , , , , ,

As most of you know, I’ll be running the Disney Princess Half-Marathon with my sister in February.

I’m half looking forward to it, half dreading it.

I’m looking forward to it because it will provide me with tons of blog material. Apparently, women and men dress up like princesses for this shindig.

I’m not looking forward to it because I will have to run 13.2 miles.

I will have to run 13.2 miles.

Anyway, I started training about a month ago and I’m now up to 10 miles. I typically run 3 days a week, 2 short runs and 1 long run. On Tuesday, I took my unhappy behind to the gym and decided to give myself a little challenge: I would run a 5K in 27 minutes. The reason why I wanted to run it in 27 minutes is because I ran the Palm Beach Turkey Trot 5K in 28 minutes.

Why compete with other people when I can just battle royale myself?

Unfortunately, when I was getting changed in the locker room at the gym I discovered that I had forgotten one sock.

I had forgotten one sock.

Who forgets to pack A SOCK?

That would be this idiot right here.

Now, most people would have said, “Oh darn, I guess I’ll run tomorrow.” However, I have class 3 nights a week and I work late 1 night a week. Therefore, I had no other night to run. Other people would have said, “Hmm, running with one sock won’t be so bad.”

Only stupid people say things like, “Well, it’ll just look weird if I only have ONE sock on. I’ll just run without socks today.”

Wait, did I say stupid people? I mean moronic people.

And by “moronic” I mean me.

I ran a 27 minutes 5k with nothing protecting my feet from the rough inside of my shoe. At home when I took my shoes off, I could hear my feet. They had a pulse they were aching so badly. Needless to say I had two blisters the size of Omaha on the arches of my feet the next day. If the world flooded, my feet could have been used as flotation device to save half of Australia. That’s how huge my blisters were.

The other half of Australia would have to find its own blister to ride to safety.

Anyway, when I told He-Man of my foolishness he laughed and told me to put some baby powder on my feet before I went to bed. The next morning, as I was about to leave for work, I heard him chuckling in his office.

Me: I’m leaving, Dad. I’ll see you tonight.

He-Man: You know, I was just thinking about something.

Me: What?

He-Man: You’re the only person I know who would get a huge blister in the arch of her foot.

Me:…

He-Man: Your arch isn’t supposed to touch the ground! Your feet are so flat your whole foot touches the ground! Isn’t that hilarious?!

Yeah, really funny, He-Man…

