Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last week was a crazy week.

Well, actually, it wasn’t that bad.

I was just in a chaotic frame of mind and felt myself the most ill-used creature on the face of the planet. (At Table 9: Pity, party of 1)

On Wednesday morning, I woke up before my alarm, which is never a great way to start the day, and instead of trying to sleep for another 15 minutes, I decided to get an early start to my day.

This was the worst decision ever made ever.

By 7am, I was out the door, coffee mug sans coffee (because of that cursed anxiety disorder I can’t have caffeine) in hand, and my keys ready to go. I got in the car, but my bag in the passenger seat, hooked up my iPod, put the key in the ignition, and started the car. Syd the Hybrid roared to early morning life. I took off the parking brake, put the car in drive, and tried to reverse out of the driveway.

Syd the Hybrid wouldn’t budge an inch.

I thought, ‘Huh, maybe it’s stuck. Maybe I didn’t get it completely out of neutral.’

I put my foot on the brake, put the car back in park, and then put it in drive.

Syd the Hybrid didn’t budge an inch, so I tried a little experiment: I put the car in neutral.

It started to roll down the driveway!

At this point, I was ready to curse, cry, and throw myself off a bridge. I was a tad stressed. All I could see before my eyes was an enormous mechanic bill and having to rely on Chi-chi to drop me off at school every day. FYI, Chi-chi and I CANNOT share a vehicle without somebody getting kicked out of the car on the I-95.

I put the car back in park, raced into the house, and said, “My car won’t reverse! It only reverses in neutral!” (If you’re smart unlike me, you’ve already figured out my stupid mistake.)

Unfortunately, I was hysterical at this point, so it sounded like, “WAHHHHHHHHH!!!!”

Uncle Nigel followed me outside and said, “Ok, show me the problem.”

I got into the car, turned it on, took off the parking brake, and put the car in drive.

“SEE!!! WHEN I TRY TO REVERSE IT- oh I put the car in drive…”

Dear Reader, please don’t ever let me drive you anywhere.

