Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Before I ran the Disney Princess Half-Marathon, I used to love the song “Stronger” by Kelly Clarkson.

 It’s a great running song.

Stronger (Kelly Clarkson album)

Image via Wikipedia

 Correction: It’s a great running song when there’s an end in sight.

 If you’re at the end of a long run, “Stronger” is a great song to listen to.

 However, if you’re on mile 8 of a 13.1 mile run, you will start to analyze the lyrics beyond what Ms. Clarkson intended.

 “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!”

 Me: If this run doesn’t kill me, it’ll make me stronger? Does that mean this run could kill me? Am I gonna die? Oh my gosh, I’m gonna die.

“Stand a little taller!”

Me: Actually, I feel like curling up into the fetal position right now. Is Pace Charming watching me?

 “Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone!”

 Me: I’m gonna die alone. In Disney. This is so NOT the happiest place on earth.

“What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter!”

 Me: I’ve been running for over an hour, Kelly Clarkson! I’ve got no fight left in me! I want to sleep. I got no sleep last night. Emmalyn the Gremmalyn snores. There’s no rest for the wicked.

“Footsteps even lighter!”

 Me: I look like a dehydrated elephant trudging across the savanna right now. Or a bull. Not even a raging bull. I’m el toro mas cansado.

 “Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone!”

 Me: Did I just get passed by another pixie? Oh heck no. WHAT DOESN’T KILL YOU MAKES YOU STRONGER!!!

 Second Correction: It’s a great running song when you’ve been passed by a man in chiffon.

